basketball etiquette

Posted on August 5, 2012

0


I am in a new co-op in Bed-Stuy.  For several months now, I’ve been that single guy without kids in my building, the one who doesn’t want to live right above a basketball goal.  Since our co-op is new, there were no rules for many issues we face as a new community.  When I first brought up the goal, I got some major push-back from the families with children.  I’ve been conflicted about it b/c actually I do want them to have a place to play ball conveniently and safely, but without knowing when that will be exactly, I grew to hate the thudding sound of the game, even if it was some nice kids playing it.  Back a couple months ago, I took a big ole patience pill and entered negotiations for having specific times when the basketball can be used.  Those times (a new house rule) just came down from the new board, and I’m hopeful that this will work out to everyone’s satisfaction.

Tagged:
Posted in: interaction