seen, heard, hosted

Posted on May 23, 2012

0


So, sitting at home on a Tuesday night and someone unloads a handgun clip out front of my apartment.  Scared the hell out of me … heart started racing.  But, then, I just started back watching an old episode of Heroes on Netflix.  What does that make me?  Desensitized or Escapist?  I actually have my fifth guest staying with me now in the Map Room … Subomi is a friend from Nigeria who comes to NYC as a personal shopper for some wealthy and fashionable Lagosians.

Oh yeah, the seen:  I was walking in Ft. Greene with my friend Mijin and saw this street art.  I’m not sure if it is Swoon or Gaia … does anybody know?  Despite the gunshots ringing out, I do love my neighborhood and how it holds so much difference.  The other day on the A train, I saw a couple each with one hand in a customized, beaded cloth bag stitched with the words Rath Yatra.

